Misdemeanor DUI Charges
The fact that many of the DUI offenses in Ohio are considered a misdemeanor should do nothing to lessen the importance of searching for solutions to fight the charges. Even for a first misdemeanor DUI offense in Ohio, you could face jail time, probation, fines, and court fees. Your driver’s license will also be suspended, along with the high probability of required alcohol awareness classes and an installation of an ignition interlock device.
Considering that you will likely have to deal with major negative effects to your social, professional and financial standing, it is vital that you take the precautions necessary to safeguard yourself from these debilitating consequences. The most effective manner in which to do so is to work side by side with a capable Ohio DUI defense attorney who has the knowledge and experience to successfully represent you in court.
Ohio Misdemeanor DUI Attorney
Joslyn Law Firm is committed to representing individuals and families throughout Cincinnati and Central Ohio who are currently dealing with a DUI. They approach every case in a proactive manner that takes all relevant aspect of the case into account, while handling every step in the criminal process for you. This includes the gathering of evidence, interviewing of witnesses, and development of all necessary documentation vital to your case.
Joslyn Law Firm is a Cincinnati-based criminal defense practice that proudly serves those in and around Central Ohio. Along with residents and visitors to Hamilton County, the firm also handles cases in the cities of Middletown, Norwood, Hamilton, Fairfield, Butler, Mason, Oxford, Pickerington, Springboro and Loveland, among many others.
In order to schedule a confidential, no-cost consultation with an attorney from our firm to review your misdemeanor drunk driving charges, please call (513) 399-6289 or send an online message today. Committed representation along with a quick response time will guarantee that the firm will get started on your case immediately.
Information on Ohio's Laws for Misdemeanor DUI Charges
- Ohio Criminal Code for Driving Under the Influence
- Finding the Best Attorney to Defend Your Record from DUI Misdemeanor Charges
Ohio Criminal Code for Driving Under the Influence
According to ORC §4511.19, a misdemeanor of the first degree is the standard charge for the majority of DUI offenses. The following are the likely scenarios facing Ohio residents who are convicted of misdemeanor driving under the influence of either alcohol or drugs:
A first time DUI offender in Cincinnati, can be charged with a first degree misdemeanor, which can include up to 6 month in jail. This comes on top of a mandatory 3 day jail sentence OR a driver intervention program with probation. The minimum fine is $375, with this number going all the way to a maximum of $1,075. There is also a mandatory license suspension of six months to three years, along with the possibility of an ignition interlock device and drug or alcohol treatment.
First DUI (High BAC, .17%)
This scenario is also a first-degree misdemeanor that comes with a presumptive sentence of up to six months in jail and / or fines of up to $1,075. There is also a license suspension of 6 months to 3 years, mandatory yellow license plates and an option for an ignition interlock device. On top of the sentencing, there is a minimum 3-6 days in jail and 3 days in a driver intervention program.
2nd DUI (in Six Years)
A second DUI is a misdemeanor of the first degree with the same presumptive sentence as the charges above, except for the fine, which is increased to between $525 and $1,625. There is also a minimum 5-10 days in jail and 18 days of electronically monitored house arrest and / or continuous alcohol monitoring. The mandatory license suspension is increased to 1-5 years and the vehicle is immobilized for 90 days if registered to the defendant. Alcohol and drug assessments are mandatory, along with restricted license plates. If the DUI is a high test, the minimum mandatory jail sentence increases to 10-20 days.
Finding the Best Attorney to Defend Your Record from DUI Misdemeanor Charges
The most logical manner of doing so is to work with a qualified OVI lawyer who has the experience and legal understanding required to effectively represent you throughout the entire criminal process. Not only will our dedicated team bring their exceptional understanding of Ohio laws to the table, they will also bring their proactive and aggressive tendencies so that every step is taken and every factor is analyzed.
In addition to serving those near their Cincinnati, Ohio office location in Hamilton County, the firm extends their legal representation to individuals and families in and around Clermont County, Greene County, Fayette County, Warren County, Butler County, Franklin County and Clinton County.
Call (513) 399-6289 or send an online message to schedule a free and confidential consultation to go over the details of your misdemeanor drunk or drugged driving charges with an attorney at the Joslyn Law Firm today. As soon as the facts of your case are presented, our attorneys will be able to get started defending you.